top of page

Town Board

Sparta Town Hall.jpg

The Sparta Town Board is the legislative appropriating, governing and policy determining body of the Town. The Town Board determines the types and levels of service to be provided in the Town. The board annually adopts the Town budget, which reflects the cost of conducting operations and monitors Town operations. In its legislative capacity, the Board passes resolutions and enacts ordinances and laws which govern the functions of town government and ensure the safety and well-being of all residents.

The Town Board consists of five members - the Town Supervisor and four Councilpersons - who are elected by town voters and represent the Town at large. Each member serves a four-year term of office. Please Note: Regular Town Board Meetings are held every second Tuesday at 7:00 PM at the Sparta Town Hall.


Mark J. Schuster



Mary Ellyn Calabrese

Council Member


William T. Smith

Council Member


Debra J. Halpenny

Deputy Supervisor

Council Member


Aaron Schreiner

Council Member

bottom of page