## Organization Meeting

Organization Meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Sparta was held January 9, 2024 at 6:30 pm.

Members present: Supervisor Mark Schuster, Deputy Supervisor Deb Halpenny, Council Bill Smith and Mary Ellyn Calabrese and Aaron Schreiner.

Town Clerk Sheila Duffy swore in Mary Ellyn Calabrese, Aaron Schreiner and David Avery.

A motion was made by Deb Halpenny and seconded by Bill Smith to accept the appointments as read:

			ANNUAL	PAYMENT	STANDARD
TITLE	APPOINTMENT		SALARY	SCHEDULE	HOURS/DAY
Accountant & Payroll	Local Government Support Services		<mark>\$14,401.00</mark>	Monthly	
Assessor 6 yr. term	Holley Smalt	9/30/25	<mark>\$12,229.00</mark>	Monthly	6
Assessment Review Board 5 yr. term	Damon Flick	<u>9/30/28</u>	Volunteer		
(3 member)	Roy Bailey	9/30/24	Volunteer		
	Barbara Bernard	9/30/26	Volunteer		
Attorney for the Town 2 yr. term	DiMatteo & Roach	<mark>12/31/25</mark>	Per Contract	Voucher	
Cemetery Caretakers	Levi Miller, Atlee & Jake W	engerd	\$1600.00	Annual	
Councilman (4 member) 4 yr. term	Elected		<mark>\$2,507.75/ea</mark> .	Monthly	6
Court Clerk	Sheila Duffy		<mark>\$3,819.00</mark>	Semi-Annual	6
Custodian	Sheila Duffy		\$765.00	Semi-Annual	
Deputy Highway Superintendent	David Holbrook		\$1,500.00	Bi-weekly	
Deputy Registrar of Vital Statistics	Mark J Schuster		Volunteer		
Deputy Supervisor	Debra Halpenny		\$500.00	Semi-annual	
Deputy Town Clerk	John Duffy		\$500.00	Annual	
Engineer for the Town	CPL		Per Contract	Voucher	
Fair Housing Officer	Mark J. Schuster		Volunteer	-	
Highway Department Employees	David Holbrook		\$25.17/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
	Jeffery White		\$22.50/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
	Joseph Jerome		\$22.50/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
Highway Department Part Time	Steven Patterson		\$15.50/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
Part Time			\$15.50/hr.	Bi-weekly	8
Highway Superintendent 4yr Elected	Kevin Robinson	12/31/25	\$69,550.00	Bi-weekly	8
Historian	Chad Schuster	12/31/23	\$595.00	Annual	0
Information Technology	Hurricane Technologies, Inc		φ375.00	Voucher	
Junk Law Officer	David Avery		<mark>\$2,918.00</mark>	Monthly	
Justice 4yr Elected	Rodney Doe	12/31/24	\$3,183.00	Quarterly	6
Livingston Co. Planning Board 3yr	Jacob Calabrese	12/31/21	Volunteer	Quarterry	0
Mileage	Town Officials for Town Bu		\$0.67/mi	Voucher	
Office Rent	Planning Board Chairman		\$800.00	Annual	
	Supervisor		\$800.00	Annual	
Planning Board 5-year term	Michael Weber – Chairman	12/31/27	\$595.00	Annual	
(5 members)	Linda Carney	12/31/27	Volunteer	7 miliau	
(5 members)	Barbara Bernard	12/31/20	Volunteer		
	Matthew Bourgoine	12/31/24	Volunteer		
	Beckie Johnson	12/31/25	Volunteer		
Planning Board/ZBA Clerk	Vacant	12/31/20	\$15.50/hr.	Voucher	
Registrar of Vital Statistics 4 yr.	Sheila Duffy	12/31/25	\$400.00	Annual	
Supervisor 4 yr. Elected	Mark Schuster	12/31/25	\$ <b>8,917.00</b>	Monthly	6
Supervisor4 yr. ElectedTax Collector4 yr. Elected	Sheila Duffy	12/31/25	\$3,000.00	Bi-weekly	6
Town Clerk4 yr. Elected	Sheila Duffy	12/31/25	\$16,000.00 \$16,000.00	Bi-weekly	6
Traffic Safety - Co. 3yr	Nikki Jerome	12/31/23	Volunteer	Di weekiy	0
Traffic Safety Alt. – Co. 3yr	William Smith	12/31/24	Volunteer		
Youth Bureau Representative	Lorilyn Doe	12/31/24	Volunteer		
Zoning Board of Appeals 5 yr.	Vacant	12/31/26	Volunteer		
(5 member)	Edward Johnston	12/31/20	Volunteer		
	Shane Fitzpatrick	12/31/22 12/31/28	Volunteer		
	Samantha Gibson-Chairman	12/31/28	Volunteer		
	Johnathan Merle	12/31/24	Volunteer		
CEO & Addressing Official	David Avery	14/31/43	\$10,345.00	Monthly	
CLO & Addressing Official			φ10,545.00	wonuny	

All voted yes, carried.

## **Continuing Committees:**

Buildings and Grounds -Finance Committee -Highway Committee -Special Projects - (Supervisor to be on all committees) Aaron Schreiner, Debra Halpenny, William Smith Mary Ellyn Calabrese, William Smith, Debra Halpenny William Smith, Mary Ellyn Calabrese, Aaron Schreiner Debra Halpenny, Mary Ellyn Calabrese, Aaron Schreiner

A motion was made by Bill Smith and seconded by Mary Ellyn Calabrese to use Five Star Bank, Dansville Branch Depository for: Joint General/Highway Checking and Savings Accounts, Town Clerk, Tax Collector, Trust & Agency, Justice and Special Accounts. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Mary Ellyn Calabrese and seconded by Deb Halpenny to designate the Livingston County News as the Town's Official Newspaper. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Bill Smith and seconded by Deb Halpenny to designate the second Tuesday each month at 7:00 PM at the Sparta Town Hall as the official meeting time and place. All voted yes. Carried.

Town Court will be held every second Wednesday of each month at 5:00 PM at the Scottsburg Community Center.

Town Clerk Office Hours: By appointment only. Closed on Sundays and Holidays.

A motion was made by Bill Smith and seconded by Mary Ellyn Calabrese to authorize the Town Fiscal Officer to pay any bill without a voucher that has a discount prior to the Town Board Audit (example-utility bills). These bills will then be audited at the next regular town board meeting. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Mary Ellyn Calabrese and seconded by Bill Smith to make the normal workday for the Highway Department 8 hours, 5 days per week. The workday may be 10 hours, 4 days per week from April 15<sup>th</sup> to October 31<sup>st</sup> or dates to be designated at the discretion of the Highway Superintendent. All voted yes. Carried.

A motion was made by Mary Ellyn Calabrese and seconded by Deb Halpenny to adjourn the meeting. All voted yes. Carried.

Next regular meeting will be held January 9, 2024 at 7:00 PM.

TOWN CLERK

Sheila Duffy